Two months was all it took for me to come to this decision of resignation. Contrary to what some would think, I did not wake up one Monday morning, all grouchy with dried up drool trailing west on my cheek with the resolve to quit. It took days and weeks of coming to the realization that I want more out of life than an eight hour, 5-6 days a week of working for a certain Mr. Steve (Not real name).

Do not get me wrong, I am not trying to be cliche with the whole “I want to be an entrepreneur”, not like it’s a bad thing to desire but the ironic thing is am a better follower than a leader. My decision to walk out of my office is bedridden with so many piled up reasons.

Curiosity killed the cat they say, but I know you are dying to know what on earth would make a questionably reasonable girl walk out on a dream job that so many unemployed graduates desire. Truth be told, this is so not by dream job, although I get the unemployed part because I am practically looking a gift horse in the mouth and spitting at its face (Is that how the term is used?).

I have decided to resign because I want to fulfill my life purpose of being happy. What better reason can there be? Why work in a place when you hate what you do? Why work in a place when your efforts go unappreciated? Why work in a place when you look outside your little world once in while and wonder what it would feel like to do anything but what you do? Why work when you find no joy in being there? Why would you watch your life pass you by when life in itself is too brief to waste?

I am in pursuit of my purpose and my purpose is my happiness and that, dear reader, is one of the major reasons why I have decided to quit.

 

